« When is a creepy treehouse a community of practice? | Main | Twitter events »

22/05/2008

Comments

Patrick McAndrew

Hi Martin,
So it's not just me! I agree with that somehow twitter has found a niche but its gold on the niche is also fragile. After all we switched off Facebook very quickly. Twitter could become my sticking point based on two things - 1. you stay on it; 2. I find an additional twitter based service that matters to me. By that I mean things like http://livetwitting.com/ from 3rd parties that are springing up.
I have visited Jaiku every so often as the interesting alternative - but how long can they carry on with a "watch this space" message? So we should we go? I think stick with twitter for now.

Liam Green-Hughes

There was an interesting post on Techcrunch about this very problem: http://www.techcrunch.com/2008/05/05/twitter-can-be-liberated-heres-how/ it raised a lot of good points and pointed out the basic problem with Twitter is that it will never really be reliable until it decentralises. The solution seems to be to have a number of microblogging services that can talk to each other. It's an approach that works excellently for the rest of the web, e.g. we don't all use the same email service!
That aside though, I think Twitter is a great way to build a sense of community, especially for people dispersed over a wide distance, it is also fun. As you say this is new ground so the journey won't always be smooth. So, like Patrick, I think I'll be sticking with it too.

Manish

Martin,
After reading your post I thought what would happen if this service suffer for long periods and how that would impact my project supervision? as I am relying on it.

Institutional twitter type software is also not as appealing as twitter itself.

Other issue is that next year students will probably have twitter accounts next year as it becomes more popular before they start the project. will they allow me as supervisor to enter their personal space...I think this may be problematic. I am thinking institutional twitter again...but some how it does not feel right.

a new twitter type service to use each year wud be nice but that is asking too much.

Enda Guinan

It's all my fault. I really got into Twitter last week. I must have sent it over the edge. Sorry.


Well, it's really you OU-types' fault for flagging it as a potential research for newbies like your H809 cohort ;)

The comments to this entry are closed.

Flickr

  • www.flickr.com
    This is a Flickr badge showing public photos and videos from edtechie99. Make your own badge here.

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter