« Twitter meltdown? | Main | The business of education »

28/05/2008

Comments

AJ Cann

I've been worried for a long time that the proliferation of media channels and time-shifting had destroyed something valuable, the collective experience of a don't miss TV experience. What would Christmas night have been without The Morecambe and Wise Show? It's encouraging that Twitter communities have built up around certain shows of otherwise dubious quality. A few weeks ago, I annoyed a few people by live twittering about The Apprentice when they had planned to watch it on the BBC iPlayer during the next week. Now we all watch it live because we don't want to miss what Brian Kelly calls "amplified events".
I suspect there's an educational parallel. Just as being online during a live lecture changes the experience for both student and lecturer does not mean that interactivity devalues it - rather the reverse. That said, I'm not sure I'm ready to devote part of the screen to tweets yet - or am I?

Scott O'Raw

You've thrown me a curveball there, sir. I've been happily predicting the death of scheduling for some time now and been raising the corner of a smug smile with every new advance in this field - Sky+, iPlayer etc.

However, as a lover of all things (well, perhaps not ALL things) social-networky I really like the idea of a shared online experience centered around scheduled events - I, like you, was looking forward to Twittering throughout the footy :S

So, perhaps you're right. Perhaps there is life left yet in the old scheduling dog.

The comments to this entry are closed.

Flickr

  • www.flickr.com
    This is a Flickr badge showing public photos and videos from edtechie99. Make your own badge here.

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter