« A pedagogy of abundance - the paper | Main | Eportfolios - J'accuse »

08/06/2011

Comments

Jim Ellis

...but is your milk bottle half-full or half-empty?

twitter.com/cogdog

(1) How do you know you are not a good photographer? Where did that assessment occur? You choose and frame your subjects well, and that to be says "Good photographer"

(2) That is the true outcome- its not about improving technically, but seeing your world differently, looking at things you might not see before. And I bet despite your assertion, that you start doing things automatically with the camera that before required conscious choice (cropping, angles, aimign for good light, avoiding badly lit subjects)

(3) You do not get to decide what is boring, it is in the eyes of the beholder. The milk picture evokes some mystery- why is it out? who's bottle is it? is the milk bad?

I've being doing the bulk of 4 years of daily photo on my 1/3 acre property and small home, and I am amazed I can still find new things. And when I am stumped for a subject, I try to fill it in my a creative title or caption.

...

(10) This is key for me. The task you took on was under your own direction, it was not for a certificate or a mark, but because you set a goal. The thing you left out which was indicated in the other points, is the influence of others on your process- the social acts of commenting and being in a shared space is important in learning too. Why not daily challenges for math, history, science?

And putting in my own... (11) Why stop now?

Sarah Horrigan

Y'know what I've also learned with a 365 project (other than I am massively tenacious when I want to be!), is that taking a photo a day is also a way of building in a point of reflection into my days. Rather than going relentlessly forwards, the act of taking an image - and then deliberately choosing one, processing it ready for upload etc - makes me stop and think. It's having to do something with an image which forces this onto you - though 'force' isn't what really happens. It's a consequence of making a choice rather than the usual forced act of reflection that you so often see in education. It's that gentle and habitual reflection which is unintended but powerful - and it's the bit I find most addictive!

PS Don't underestimate your photography - you see more than you realise.

Juliette

Congratulations on finishing! Knowing how many times I was tempted to give up, I certainly respect anybody who sees a 365 through.

I also remember mine really making me realise that I needed to get out more too - though definitely not helped by being pregnant for 9 of the 12 months of mine!

I found it good to be forced not to be too perfectionist and to just get out there and take photos, but sometimes a bit too of a chore that I stopped putting enough effort into trying to improve my photography and sometimes ended up just trying to get a 'good enough' shot which I'm not sure was really worthwhile.

It's nice looking back and having a photographic diary of the year too I find now.

Terry Freedman

Hi, I really enjoyed reading this. I've carried a camera around with me everyday for yonks: it really does make u look at the world ina different way. I also happen to think documenting "boring" things is good, and necessary -- because most people photograph only the interesting stuff!

I haven't used only my own pics in presentations, but I do tend to use mainly my own ones to illustrate my articles: I love the idea of being able to just have a rummage through to see which ones might fit the topic being discussed.

I also wrote an article you may be interested in, thought it concerns video more than still pics. It's called In Praise of Tedium:

http://www.ictineducation.org/home-page/2010/10/9/in-praise-of-tedium.html

Cheers!
Terry

The comments to this entry are closed.

Flickr

  • www.flickr.com
    This is a Flickr badge showing public photos and videos from edtechie99. Make your own badge here.

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter