« Lijit and connected learning | Main | Girls hooked on DS »

18/07/2007

Comments

stuart

HI Martin,

surely one of the reasons that so few people are remixing is that it's so difficult to do. how many people feel knowledgeable to enough to rewrite a unit on ancient greece? may a decent number. How many of these people are good with XML? Not quite so many.
I think size is also an issue. Why sould someone have to download the whole unit? Why can't they just take the paragraph, flash file etc that they want and leave the rest? If they could I'm sure we'd see more `viral' activity / reuse a la clipmarks perhaps.

Martin

Yes, in openlearn's case I think you're right Stuart - the threshold for remixing is too high currently (at the start I said we should just put it up in a wiki, but would they listen?). But I think this is just one instance - there is something about the difference between education and social media in general, and I'm not sure we'll ever bridge that divide...
Martin

Stephen

We're listening. Really we are!

I share your concern that learning can potentially be worthy but dull and/or that enhancing finely-crafted learning materials is much harder than making quick changes in a wiki. We've much further to do on OpenLearn to experiment with 'in situ' editing, with different ways to share and shape content; and with reputation management.

I think what we're offering goes some way to enabling good sharing, but doesn't give the buzz and the quick hit of the social spaces you describe. I think it's partly because we currently don't meet a clear and compelling need for educators(reputation, community, curriculum improvement) in the way that the social softwares do for so many of us.

We all talk about tipping points and critical mass. What's interesting is that the fervour around Hush puppies that Gladwell describes has absolutely nothing to do with any inherent quality in the shoes: it's a tribal, cultural phenomenon. The 'best' products aren't the biggest successes, but for a time those shoes 'said something' about their wearers. What does "being an educator" say about us?

Martin

Hi Stephen
I know you're listening! (I was actually referring to the early days when I was part of the team putting the bid together). I've been thinking about this buzz/excitement thing and maybe we're doing it the wrong way round. At the moment Facebook (or insert your favourite social site) have a buzz and they're fun, but I wonder how they will maintain that level of interest. My friends list is probably petering out and maybe I'm not as interested in status updates as I was... Anyway, maybe learning provides the ongoing stickability for something like FB. They come for the fun and stay for the learning.
Martin

AJ Cann

"there isn't as much reuse and adaptation happening as we'd hoped for" yet another reincarnation of NIH syndrome:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Not_Invented_Here#NIH_syndrome_in_academia

I forget how many times I've been around this cycle with new technologies:

"if I teach my course using openlearn materials, why does my university need me?"

"our students are highly specialized and need custom learning materials"

Martin

Yes, it's strange isn't it? In research the culture is one of sharing (to a degree), and building on the work of others, yet this doesn't transfer across to teaching. I wonder if the reuse found in web 2.0 will begin to change this, as it is so intrinsic to the mindset.
Martin
PS welcome back!

The comments to this entry are closed.

Flickr

  • www.flickr.com
    This is a Flickr badge showing public photos and videos from edtechie99. Make your own badge here.

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter