« Road to Beijing | Main | Technological enlightenment »

05/04/2007

Comments

Stephen Heppell

Thanks - useful comments (and I chuckled at the "in a room where I was an amateur at the evangelism stuff, I took on the 'devils advocate' role" - partly because I'm not really sure any of us are much good at evengelism to be honest - but we do have good track records of making effective, large scale social spaces work. It is curious really that learning doesn't properly have such a space - and interesting to see people trying hard to build learning into YouTube, MyArtSpace (even WebCT lol) etc etc.

I'm excited about the progress we made - very very faithful to the original, radical, OU philosophy, but very 21st century too; driving past Walton hall I'm sure i could see the ghoost of Jennie Lee dncing on the (old) library roof...

Martin

Thanks Stephen - I think it's exciting too. I think it is important that we have external involvement from people such as yourself to avoid it becoming too OU-centric.

AJ Cann

But your rational scepticism is why I read this blog Martin :-)
The same arguments apply to wikis - the critical mass for success is very large, and I have not encountered an example other than Wikipedia which works for that reason.

The comments to this entry are closed.

Flickr

  • www.flickr.com
    This is a Flickr badge showing public photos and videos from edtechie99. Make your own badge here.

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter