« OU Learning Design workshops | Main | Encouraging educators to blog »

26/04/2007

Comments

Scott Leslie

In addition, I also tell people about the immense network of colleagues and experts it can help you build, which can have immediate benefits for an organization. Many has been the time when I have struck a brick wall in working on a problem and have turned to my network for help, either through email directly to people I know might have the answer or through my blog itself looking for the wisdom of the crowd. If you accept the premise that change, knowledge (and complexity) are accelerating, then it seems almost professionally neglectful not to be establishing a wide and deep network to help deal with it.

Non Scantlebury

I read with interest your enthusiastic endorsement regarding blogging but as an employee it threw us some interesting challenges. I was told I had to start a blog when working on an internal vle project and despite several entries found that very few visited it. Now, hand on heart, it might well have been the boring way I blogged and you might be able to give some valuable lessons on how to do it successfully! Lots of people said to me they just didn't have time to check out blogs, e-mails, online discussion entries, forums, feed readers, and all the other umpteen places there are to try and keep up to date with all this C21st info dissemination.
The other key aspect to this is information management itself. Don't you think there is a growing tension here between a freer choice of external tools by individuals will result in fragementation and potential mis management of content? Who owns content anymore? Do you think this is an issue that might hamper the creative use of blogging to support good educative practice and relfective sharing?

Martin

Hi Non,
Lots of points you raise here. On your own experience, I think there is an art to blogging, and as I said it took me three attempts to find a voice I felt comfortable with, so maybe it is a case of keeping at it. Having said that, I certainly don't think blogging is for everyone (in the same way that writing academic papers isn't for everyone either).
Re. keeping up, I think this is a lot easier with simple subscription tools now. I use variously netvibes, Google reader, and even the Google desktop which automatically adds RSS sites in. There is also an attitude issue here - if I was to say 'I've spent all morning reading blogs', some people might think 'waster', whereas if I say 'I've spent all morning in the library reading journal articles' people will think 'ah, good solid academic'.
I'm not with you on the growing choice being a bad thing. I think it changes the dynamic between educators and students since they now have access to a wide range of voices, often including the leading experts. No-one really owns content any more, that's what we have to address as educators.

Tony Karrer

On the Learning Circuits Blog a few months back, we did a question of whether learning professionals should blog. You might want to take a look at that:

Should All Learning Professionals Blog?
http://learningcircuits.blogspot.com/2006/10/big-question-for-october-should-all_04.html

as well as my summary of what folks said:

Top Ten Reasons to Blog or Not to Blog
http://elearningtech.blogspot.com/2006/10/top-ten-reasons-to-blog-and-top-ten.html

Since that time, I've become a much stronger proponent that anyone who really wants to support their own personal learning should be blogging.

The comments to this entry are closed.

Flickr

  • www.flickr.com
    This is a Flickr badge showing public photos and videos from edtechie99. Make your own badge here.

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter