« Open research ethics - the puppy killer scenario | Main | Battle for Open webinar »

19/03/2014

Comments

Sukainaw

I like the idea that guerilla research can make the research process more accessible to those for whom research might not be in their remit. One issue is the how - if you are doing something on your own or with one other person, how can you get access to expertise, advice and mentoring while decisions regarding methodology or rigour might become an issues or need.

Anneladams

This sort of connects up with research in the wild work. Except it goes a step further - as always with Martin and Tony. I agree there is an issue of support for guerrilla research. Although it depends on expectations for the research. Many educationalists pose theories on learning without ever touching practice in the real world - they don't worry that their work may be totally invalid, they are posing theories. I suspect the thorniest issue is one of ethics. Although I think this posses some interesting thoughts, I think we have become obsessed in research with the consent from as a get out jail free card for ethics. Actually I wrote a piece for one of my current research projects arguing that written consent could actually be more invasive for some pieces of research. I've argued for initial research to be framed by verbal consent..... And I found some medical research that highlights in Randomised controlled trials he benefit of verbal consent over written consent. Good evidence for that argument ;-).

The comments to this entry are closed.

Flickr

  • www.flickr.com
    This is a Flickr badge showing public photos and videos from edtechie99. Make your own badge here.

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter