« Dickens & open scholarship | Main | Build it and they might come »

31/01/2014

Comments

twitter.com/cogdog

Small and US-centric example.

Employers have to verify that I am a legal citizen via an I-9 status form. As a part time online teacher, each place I go I must complete separate paper work which must be notarized. I have a packet for 15 pages to process today for a new one. When I took a job at UMW, they required that I present my documentation in person, requiring a visit to Virginia just to show them my passport.

It's an insane amount of paperwork, that ought to be managed centrally- why do I have to prove my national citizenship over and over again?, but now, each institution has to have admin staff manage a whole process for this.

The comments to this entry are closed.

Flickr

  • www.flickr.com
    This is a Flickr badge showing public photos and videos from edtechie99. Make your own badge here.

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter