« Digital resilience in Higher Ed | Main | Mrs T & the battle for history »

09/04/2013

Comments

Littlegreycellsblog.wordpress.com

Hi Martin, I'm also surprised that Twitter hasn't been as integral to the MOOC experience, but I agree the Google group is proving to be a good space for the more collaboratively minded and provides the social presence element. I think your email is working well and I am glad it is not daily. (Sometimes, the daily email on Change MOOC caused periodic anxiety and guilt about not having done much).

Sukaina Walji, H817open

CogDog

Even just sharing posts like this is a part of the anti xMCOC strategy (the second letter is not a typo, they are not open and should stop perverting the word).

I'm thinking feed gathering may never be fully automated. The simplest would be requiring/asking for a dedicated blog for a class like this, as the autodiscovery is most doable. Or maybe the signup form has an advanced option, that allows people to enter feedURLs if they know what they are doing. In ETMOOC I saw everything from gibberish entered into the form, to urls to static pages, to typos (no : in the url) -- of course some of the human error can be detected by running a validation for a URL, but that's not the point.

I processed something over 600 form submissions to register the 520 blogs to http://etmooc.org/hub it was tedious but I was able to create some spreadsheet shortcuts.

But there is a side benefit in being a human and not a script- I would usually check the blogs quickly to verify the links (a good 10% of blogger ones submitted were set to private, and a few sleaze bags tried so sneak in unrelated sites) -- but what this di was give me, as someone involved in helping run the course, an overview, although brief, of what the blogs looked like and often insights into the individual. When we automate, we often lose things like that in pursuit of efficiency.

I can see perhaps a system that might allow people to share the same kind of information you provided into a resource database. Let's put Martin on it ;-)

Martin Hawksey

I haven't got as far as a recipe but your post inspired me to publish the ocTEL ingredients card http://mashe.hawksey.info/2013/04/octel-proudly-powered-by/

As I indicate in the post because I can fumble some code together the trap I've fallen in is installing plugins that almost do the job then spending hours trying to figure out how to hook it in with the general flow.

For other feedwordpress users another useful database would be the reverse lookup eg have some of your participants started using a Google+ community? Get the RSS feed using the Feed+ app in the chrome store, or has a mendeley group been created (eg http://www.mendeley.com/groups/3241271/octel/)? Add /feed/ to the url ;)

Still loads more to do in this area ... which is nice

Larry Hanley

Thanks, Martin. This is extremely helpful!

Christina Hendricks

As someone who has become a bit Twitter-addicted after my experience with ETMOOC, I, too, am somewhat surprised but more saddened that Twitter isn't really doing much in #h817open. One thing that might have galvanized the Twitter community in ETMOOC was weekly Twitter chats, moderated, with specific topics each week. I really got to know people that way, and found quite a few people to follow (and followers too). I miss those very much, and wished there had been some in #h817open. Just a thought for the future, though it does mean adding in more synchronous elements. That's something else I'm missing in #h817open--synchronous elements help me feel more connected to the community, when, e.g., Blackboard sessions allow chats on the side.

Thanks for the course, though, which is otherwise very helpful!

Blendededu.blogspot.com

Thanks for summarizing the technologies used in this mooc. I like the idea that all students put their work on their own blogs in the mooc. When I was teaching an online course a few years back I had my students create blogs and use that to submit their coursework with their reflections. It worked really well. It also made it really easy for grading of course I had much fewer students.

I do like the idea of "guest speakers" for adding a synchronous element to online learning. I used that idea too for extending the learning and to expose the students another point of view. Recording it makes it great for those who can't be there because of work or time zone incapability.

Even though I have had to take a break for a while during the course due to career related travels & ordinary life becoming complicated I have been able to keep informed with the newsletter and the google + community. I really rather the google + community than the forum, but than is my personal preference. Also have been wondering WHY more people weren't using Twitter, but I do like Christina's idea of using a twitter chat to get them into Twitter early on- and people can always read the twitter transcript afterwards if interested.

I do have to say I am really impressed with how smoothly the course has run and all those involved are doing a great job. Thanks!

The comments to this entry are closed.

Flickr

  • www.flickr.com
    This is a Flickr badge showing public photos and videos from edtechie99. Make your own badge here.

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter