« MOOCs are your friends | Main | The MOOCs that ate themselves »

29/01/2013

Comments

Citizenjoesmith

Thanks Martin - another very handy piece of forward thinking (and doing). Can hear the pain as you describe workload planning at 150% - and many of us would recognise it. But that is surely the tool by which space for open scholarship can be defended - even expanded. I used to have a line drawn from a very partial understanding of martial arts about using the weight of your opponent against you but that's far too negative reference point when talking about an institution I love... The 10% of time for 'citizenship duties' (which is, in my experience, where the against-the-laws-of-physics extra 50% of productive work comes from) isn't going to cut it. Rather we have to find ways of double counting the time and work we contribute to public scholarship (bleeding into research and teaching). But I think that's the point you're making isn't it? I talk a bit about this in relation to public geography / geography in public in a new review article for Geographical Journal. Close to final version on ORO at: http://oro.open.ac.uk/34344/ (and cite you of course...)

Citizenjoesmith

That should read 'weight of your opponent against IT' of course

mweller

Hi Joe, yes it's that double counting that I'm promoting. I'm not saying we stop doing traditional scholarship but just that we are increasingly finding there is less time for it. So instead of writing 4 journal articles a year, maybe it's 2, or instead of going to 5 conferences a year (some of my colleagues seem to go to 5 a month) it's 2. Open scholarship can take up some of the slack then in maintaining a public profile. Of course, there is a professional argument about whether it _should_ and whether we should defend the time for these other practices more rigourously. I just know that from my own experience it allows me to maintain some public profile when time is squeezed.

The comments to this entry are closed.

Flickr

  • www.flickr.com
    This is a Flickr badge showing public photos and videos from edtechie99. Make your own badge here.

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter