« Be the Sat Nav | Main | Calling OA academic book publishers »

05/12/2012

Comments

Icey_mark

Hurray. Rational optimism. Nice post.
Mark

Robsub

You have linked to the OU MA in Art History. Did you mean to?

I've felt for a long time that education isn't broken, but educational policy is - and has been for at least thirty years. Successive politicians have completely failed to understand what both individual citizens and the country as a whole need from education.

mweller

Thanks Mark - (and huge congrats on your THE award). Don't worry, normal miserable service will be resumed :)

Rob - education may not be broken, but this Prof obviously is. Thanks, no corrected. I agree with your point about what politicians see as the _point_ of education. In fact education is remarkably unbroken given the battering it has had. I'm obviously more focused on the technology perspective here, but the education is broken brigade try to entwine the two.

twitter.com/cogdog

"This is what all education is like" silly hats for the ladies?

The thing is, as you point out your own experience, when education works, it is not newsworthy, not even noticed. I firmly believe, on a regular basis, hundreds of millions, maybe more (lack of analytics) people are learning something effectively.

The adjective does not even belong applied to a system. Your kitchen plumbing, your car, your shoe laces are things clearly identified as being broken, they do not work as intended. But a system? It's like claiming the ocean is broken, or the universe is broken. It does not even make sense.

That said, what your experience describes as working .e.g. not broken, and for you) is the process of education in action. There *are* problems with the system, access to education, cost of education, slow rates of change, inequities...

I could nto agree more (I think this is what you are saying) that if the description "broken" is broken (oh the recursion!) then the idea of "fixing" a system is also... broken.

What we are doing, I hope, is the iterative process of trying to make it better.

Now get back to your homework!

Dominik Lukeš

The thing is that both the broken/not broken perspective can be valid at the same time.

The "education is broken" rhetoric builds on completely false premises. There is nothing fundamentally wrong with the education we have. At all levels most students get exposed to the information they need and have opportunities to make something of it. Teachers are by and large well informed of their subject, care about the students' success and follow a reasonable pedagogical framework. Sure, there is a large minority of students who are excluded both for good and bad reasons, but (following Pinker - although I really hate that book) we've never had it so good. I wrote about that discussing the '21st century education' cliche: http://metaphorhacker.net/2012/01/21st-century-educational-voodoo.

I can exactly imagine your history course. It would be just fine. Some readings, some discussions, some assignments. If you want to learn about history, there's only so many ways to slice the cake. Sure, if would be nice if it was a MOOC so that more people could take part, and if the essays were taking place outside the VLE on blogs, etc. But for most participants it must be just fine.

But, at the same time, education is completely bonkers. It is an irrelevant, repressive, inefficient and hypocritical system. Most arguments for the organization of schooling are simply cargo cult delusions. From the perspective of social utility I doubt it would make much difference if we assigned grades randomly instead of based on examinations. You could probably imagine a completely different system: http://researchity.net/2012/08/14/space-the-final-frontier-of-online-education-or-flipping-the-school-year.

So what to make of that? I always come back to the title of Cuban and Tyack's book 'Tinkering toward utopia'. Make our utopias explicit but tweak what we do rather uproot everything.

I guess I could have found a briefer way of saying I agree.

mweller

@alan - yes, that is what I was saying. You & Jim are probably the most revolutionary people I know in terms of actually implementing ideas in education. If most educators only did a tenth of that it'd be a highly innovative system. So it's not like everyone has to be Jim Groom. But even your ds106 work is taking place within an educational system, and look what can be achieved then.
@Dominik - I agree, the ed system is a bit bonkers. I'm not sure I'd go as far as saying you can allocate random marks, but it does seem sometimes you can adopt any pedagogy you like and get the same ranking. I haven't come across Cuban and Tyack - that's a great title, and says in a sentence what I was trying to say.

Lisa M Lane

Agree, agree, and felt a great sense of relief reading this because I'm one of those people trying to innovate into the old system rather than throwing everything out.

So, not broken. What about antiquated? (I like the hats)

I hear this all the time - that the big problem with education is that it's *old*, its patterns of learning are antique, it aims toward an industrialized electorate instead of a postmodern world of teamwork and crowdsourcing. Thus the desire (often, as you note, self-serving) to throw out the old models.

And yet, as a history prof myself, I must say that there's no substitute for intensive reading and analysis of the kind you describe. The marvelous, wonderful educational change is in the access to the huge resources you mention. If you class ignored those, or didn't use them, that would be the real shame. Then we wouldn't be building on what we have, or tinkering toward anything.

Geoffstead

Great post. I guess another problem with the "education is broken" mantra is that it implies education is one thing, which is a daft simplification. It is a wide, diverse group of schools (state and private), Colleges, University (the bricks and mortar type, as well as OU), work based training, self driven, etc etc.

Of course there are a range of problems that impact on some, or all of these institutions. Of course we are all trying to help them evolve, and improve continually. But that doesn't mean we should fall back on lazy generalisations.

(Good post. Thanks)

Tom Woodward

FWIW, I probably fall in a more depressed version of @Dominik's camp. Exposure occurs. Teachers care but many fundamental things seemed misguided at best and harmful at worst.

I think @Alan is setting the bar too low. Lots of people learn lots of things without a gigantic machine and vast amounts of money in place dedicated to that purpose. There ought to be really dramatic demonstrable benefits from all this energy, structure, and money.

I can't see it as an ocean/universe comparison as these aren't systems designed for a purpose- plumbing yes (shoe laces no). I imagine education (in the way we're talking about it) is a designed system with some sort of (ill) defined goal. To decide if education is broken I imagine we'd have to agree on what education is supposed to do (and which part is supposed to do what) and how to measure the impact of the energy in vs the output. I don't envy anyone that task for a small portion of the pie, let alone at scale.

Personally, I can't imagine anyone looking at USA K12 (my home turf) would be wildly happy with the results at a macro level. I also think it's hard to separate culture and education. It'd be hard to argue that US education/culture is churning out happy citizens, who have the ability to resist manipulation, think critically and delay gratification for the betterment of themselves and/or the world (a super slim version of my hopes for education). It seems that many teachers are unhappy, many students are unhappy, and lots of people are unhappy with the "results." I predict current efforts will make all participants (vendors excluded) less happy.

I don't know if this would be the definition of "broken" but it's certainly messed up and I have no idea how anyone could possibly fix it. I think of K12 education as being a lot like the USA's medical system. Expectations, goals etc. are all messed up.

The comments to this entry are closed.

Flickr

  • www.flickr.com
    This is a Flickr badge showing public photos and videos from edtechie99. Make your own badge here.

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter