« A quick and dirty REF | Main | A Couros birthday and user generated content »

11/04/2011

Comments

Alan Levine

Way to go Martin! I'd dream of just finishing in the 4's...

In addition to your points, I'd add:

* while you can read many books and watch a lot of videos about running, it is something you get better at only by doing so, repeatedly.

* we focus and think about the finish, but later realiza it was the process of getting there that was more powerful

Drnickpearce

congrats, a decent time! although by the looks of the photo there is nobody behind you...

One of my fav authors (murakami) has written an autobiographical book about the relationship between running and writing which might be relevant here. http://www.amazon.co.uk/What-Talk-About-When-Running/dp/1846552206

I think his main points were about self discipline and deferred rewards (like the post race beer!).

Rob Letcher

Another thought- perhaps we'd have more runners if we focused on finishing rather than finishing fast and gave the runners control over their own route. Same with learning?

Brian

Fantastic stuff.

My only is hope is that you enjoy nothing but "guilt-free beers" for you from now on.

Gillian Light

Thanks for the post - very timely as I'm struggling with both study and running myself at the moment and needed some reminders! Well done - definitely an achievement

Phil Greaney

Great achievement, well done. I agree with these excellent points, too - I think these 'big ideas' are sometimes lost in the minutiae of (naturally, inevitably) thinking about the specifics.

I tend not to publicise any projects I am working on (I publicise everything else instead). For me, there's nothing worse than hearing someone is going to be a spaceman/woman, or lose a stone, or write a novel or whatever and then falls at the first fence. Six months in with something under my belt to show for it - then I feel comfortable. So, the peer pressure doesn't get to me as such, only my own self-directed gnawing sense of doom :0)

But I think you're right in that the social peer pressure thing (especially now our networks are often broader) can and does work.

Well done - now you've done it, you can slide effortlessly into a lush life...

Pepsmccrea

'It's worth doing because it is tough'

Now there's a man who lives for the challenge! Love it.

Good feet - big question is: what next?! (http://www.saharamarathon.co.uk/)

Martin

@Alan - thanks, and yes, your second point in particular is true, and resonates with learning. It's something students often struggle to appreciate as they focus on marks and the immediate, that it is the process that is significant.

@Nick - of course I've read Murakami's book :) (http://nogoodreason.typepad.co.uk/no_good_reason/2009/05/what-i-talk-about-when-i-talk-about-running.html). I liked his point about when he's running he doesn't actually think about writing much, what he mainly thinks about is running, but that in itself is a kind of meditation.

@Rob - I think lots of runners make that very choice. I'm not sure about your own route, there is something about the shared experience ('what about that hill at the end!' etc)

@Brian - let's be honest, I don't feel _that_ much guilt about drinking beer...

@Gillian - ooh, tough combining the two, I only really had room for one. Good luck with both!

@Phil - yes, I think you need to be pretty certain you can complete before publicising. I wouldn't have said anything if I'd just started running, but I've been going long enough now to know I could do it.

@Pepsmccrea - I think we can safely assume the sahara marathon is not on my agenda - Llanelli in April was warm enough!

Pepsmccrea

http://www.npmarathon.com/html/200431.html would be a colder alternative... let me know if you up for it?

Sensible Q: What is the Social Media equivalent to the marathon?

Runners Waist Pack

What an amazing experience. Congratulation to you! :)

The comments to this entry are closed.

Flickr

  • www.flickr.com
    This is a Flickr badge showing public photos and videos from edtechie99. Make your own badge here.

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter