« I'm disaggregating, disaggregating | Main | OU 40th vids »

22/04/2009

Comments

CogDog

I see a fork in your tool road. On one side are the automated aggregators which merely gather your streams via RSS or things you pop in like Tumblr, in reverse chronological order.

I have tumblr, Superglu, SecondBrain sites for years that I have not touched in a long time, or even looked at. At the same time, I am not really convinced they have much value or return attraction for me. I will say one compelling feature of Posterous is the ease of posting, by email if it comes down to it, plus I think they added some group capability.

Another interesting variant in this class is SweetCron-- http://www.sweetcron.com/ which performs the same function, except you run on your own server, so you actually end up with a copy of all your "stuff" rather than it being floating in the clouds. I have one at http://cogdogblog.com/sweet/ -- again, it runs and accumulates with zero attention. Interesting feature is its tag clouds built across the services it yanks from.

The other fork is seemingly more of what you seek, aggregators that have re-sequencing or re-packaging tools. I've not played much with these, but am thinking of storytlr http://storytlr.com/ and Capzles http://capzles.com/ and likely more that lurk out there.

I have enjoyed following your own analysis of the different ways and purposes for publishing "stuff" especially with the avoidance of any TLAs.

Martin

Hi Alan - interesting you mention SweetCron, I know it but it hadn't occurred to me to put it in this category, as I had it in my mental 'CMS, Drupal like stuff' box. But of course, you are right, and indeed Drupal could go in there too. Which illustrates that the categories we have for software are blurred to a greater extent than they used to be. For the resource sharing task then you can have the complete range from using Twitter to a full blown system like Drupal.
Many thanks for the other tips, just what I was hoping I'd get from the post, will check them out.

Joss Winn

Martin,

Don't forget that a self-hosted WordPress site for $6 a month (Dreamhost) and a LifeStreaming plugin can do a decent job of this, too:

http://blog.josswinn.org/stream/

Requires next-to-no technical expertise as the WordPress site is set up with one-click by your host and the plugin can be installed via WordPress' internal plugin search feature.

AJ Cann

I agree that we frequently make instinctive "gut" judgments over software choices. I played with Tumblr a long time ago and I aware of the loyalty it inspires in many users, but to me, it never felt comfortable. I loved Posterous as soon as I tried it. Go figure. Choice is good? Ownership of tools promotes engagement? The workers control them means of production?

Martin

@Joss - thanks. That wouldn't have occurred to me either to include in this category as I was trying to move away from blogs, but now you mention it, I've seen people use this in the manner I describe.
@AJ - and when you started Son of SOTI I posted something along the lines of 'why bother?'. See I didn't get it either. That's actually a significant factor in education - people always talk about putting the pedagogy/need first, but I didn't feel a _need_ for Tumblr. Rather I started using it and found a niche.

Carl Morris

I'd like to see Sweetcron installs for topic areas as well as people. So a stream of syndicated multimedia content around, say, education technology would be good - curation and filtering. (However interesting somebody is in a topic area, I'm not always interested in their "lifestream" if it's random YouTube and Flickr faves!)

FriendFeed feels like a big mess at the moment. But the killer app for me is FriendFeed search.

For tweets it's often better than the actual Twitter Search for tweets. I get frustrated with Twitter Search sometimes. With FriendFeed, you can search by all these criteria
http://friendfeed.com/search/advanced?friends=carlmorris
Although obviously not every Twitter account is being pulled in.

Cheers for round-up.

The comments to this entry are closed.

Flickr

  • www.flickr.com
    This is a Flickr badge showing public photos and videos from edtechie99. Make your own badge here.

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter