« Celebrity twitter doesn't matter | Main | Who are the reality instructors now? »

02/03/2009

Comments

Eingang

@replies:
I wasn't aware of this feature and, using your example, I'm not sure it works. I definitely saw the iPod/Spurs comment, so either:
a) it doesn't work this way; or
b) if OU people follow you, there are other OU people (@nogbad, maybe?) who are interested in Spurs!

Ein

Eingang

OK, so we've ascertained it does work like that–just not that specific example as I must have shared the iPod person in common with you, but I don't follow @Dal so your @reply example in Twitter wasn't one I had seen.

I actually find how it does work a bit unfortunate. While I'm not interested in Spurs and I couldn't even tell you if that was a soccer team or some other kind of team, I was rather hoping to capitalize on "overheard" conversations that might prove of interest. For example, you happen to be discussing the use of Twitter as Eduglue for communities via @reply with someone I don't know but would be greatly interested in knowing.

I can see it would have its negative sides and the current implementation is probably an attempt to keep your stream more personally relevant, but oh… the lost serendipity!

mrsdurff

Copied from Twitter's Help page:
What is an @ Reply?
An @reply is any Twitter update directed at someone else, designated by a prefix of '@username' before the message.

People say lots of things on Twitter, and sometimes you want to say something back. In fact, early Twitter folks wanted to talk to each other so badly that they started using the @+username+message to designate an update as a reply. (For example, @joe40 I love that song too!) Since people loved using it so much, we made it an official thing. Now you can send anyone on Twitter a reply, and you don't have to follow or be followed by a person to send one- all replies show up in the replies tab regardless of following.
Notice it says ALL replies show up in the replies tab regardless of the following.

mweller

@Mrsduff - that is slightly different. What they mean there is that if you send me a reply, I will see it, even if I am not following you. What I was saying (and is the case) is that if I send a reply to someone (eg @personA) and you are following me, but NOT @personA then you won't see this message in my updates.
@eingang - true there is a bit of serendipity lost but we probably have enough overlap to catch most things. There will be times when I'm talking to someone about something eg a Cardiff person on a Cardiff topic when there would be no point you seeing it.

Jenny Ellwood

Great post! I'd also like life to be like Photoshop - so you can change the colour/size/position of real life objects (and people) at will!

Alan Levine

Not to mention when it gets really bad, you could just close the window or quite the conversation.

Or when the party gets too loud and raucous, everyone suddenly sees a pink whale and cannot communicate anymore (they then reach for the phones to b**** out to some random party)

Brennig Jones

@replies
Direct messages as back channel
Block
Hashtags

Pretty much how I run my project meetings; mandatory behaviour, especially when working with clients in the public sector. :)

Juliette Culver

The '@replies only visible to followers' only sunk in for me a few weeks ago. It's quite clever.

Of course, the really clever thing about twitter is the use of the @ symbol as the interface to reply to somebody. Hashtags are clever for the same reason.

Steve Boneham

Doesn't the @reply thing depend on user settings? So, you can set twitter to show all @replies by people you follow, even if they are to people that you don't follow:
http://help.twitter.com/forums/23786/entries/14595

Not specifically a Twitter feature, but I'd love CTRL+Z in real life!

mweller

Yes you're right Steve - I think not seeing them is the default. I'd forgotten you could change it. Still a feature I want though!

Carl Morris

Ha ha, this post amuses me.

I'd like to retweet your last point - certain people must embrace brevity, YES!

The thing with DMs as backchannel is you inevitably send one as a public message by accident. But that could be fun.

The closest parallel is to learn another language - the corresponding pitfall is that the unwelcome people might have an understanding of it. (Like the occasion when I performed the sign language for "bullsh!t" at the dinner table and my brother-in-law's mother exclaimed "that's RUDE!".

Also, multiple accounts (personalities) would be good offline. As would search function (if only delete worked properly).

I've taken a break from Twitter anyway. It's "killing my real life interaction"... with my to-do list.

Araldia

I enjoy seeing all @replies, as it allows me to possibly expand my network in other directions. I think I find most of the new people I follow via @conversations they have had with someone I follow and respect.
I may or may not be interested in Spurs, but if I do not see the conversation, I will never know :)

The comments to this entry are closed.

Flickr

  • www.flickr.com
    This is a Flickr badge showing public photos and videos from edtechie99. Make your own badge here.

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter