« In defence of Powerpoint | Main | My 7 stage plan for the film industry »

17/12/2008

Comments

Doug Clow

The other big thing that slows the adoption of video for communication is that - like audio - it's very, very *slow* for the consumer. Most of the time you can only watch/listen at the speed it was recorded; if you have the tools available (and they're not, typically) you can probably get up to double speed, but beyond that it'll get incomprehensible.

I can skim hundreds of blog posts and Tweets in the time it'd take to watch a couple of videos. Skimming video and audio is very, very hard even if you have good tools - and the video and audio tools we have are desperately primitive compared to the text tools, and even the still image tools.

mweller

Shame on you for not responding in Seesmic Doug! You are quite right though, which is why you need to keep Seesmic snippets short and snappy. The other problem is that often I'm not in a place where I can listen to audio easily - I'm at my desk at work, or at home and the TV is one, or on a train. Sure, I can put headphones in, but that requires, you know, effort.
But you can multitask with audio, so you can have it running and be doing something else. As long as no-one mentions cognitive load.
I'm a text kinda guy overall, but I think Seesmic works for getting a conversation going if that's what you want.

The comments to this entry are closed.

Flickr

  • www.flickr.com
    This is a Flickr badge showing public photos and videos from edtechie99. Make your own badge here.

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter