« The cost of sharing | Main | Shiny Show »

27/11/2008

Comments

Scott Leslie

"Digitalist" works for me, nice term which I agree gets past the dumb generational distinction but captures the fact that there is something new afoot.

"digitalist toolbox" - this one I'm not sure we need as a new term; it strikes me that it would be almost the same set as what we are often terming the "personal learnng environment" (oh god, I can just hear the comments, not from you, streaming in; "ple's are offline too"; "ple's are people too." - I get it, already!)

But I notice maybe there is a distinction, or at least you are noting 'attributes' of tools rather than the tools themselves. In that regards, I'd offer 'favourites' as a simple one; a common attribute of many '2.0' sites, it actually has a strong effect in stimulating both the site itself, your digital 'tracks' or 'footprints' that contribute to your online identity and like all good digitalist tricks, don't require you to do anything more than what you're already doing for your own purposes; they share your initial effort.

"Profile pages" - as in "digitalist tend to shy away from systems that don't have profiles, that don't aggregate their contributions and allow them, if they chose, to further curate their online identity, but indeed prefer systems that help them aggregate their contributions/identity *wherever they choose them to be aggregated.*" Is this the kind of thing you're thinking about? Or have I got it wrong. Quite possibly I am generalizing my own tendancies here under a name ("digitalist") that contains many different practices. Anyways, like where you are going with this, there do seem to be heuristics or characteristics of this kind of approach that I too find useful to distil and share. Cheers, Scott

Patrick

Not sure about digitalists for a couple of reasons - it sounds like a heart drug derived from foxgloves, and it implies a division between those who are digitalists and those that are not. Feels perhaps a bit formal for the digipunk community - but hey if it catches on great.

The toolbox bit is interesting because it could show me why I am still a bit on the outside. These are the reuse and aggregate facilities of the Internet, rather than the consume or generate. Using these the Internet becomes a resource you can shape without have to build, and share without having to target. I suspect you are right that those who "get" these aspects have a different view of how things work - so all praise to the digitalists!

mweller

@Scott - oh no, I haven't just invented another term for a PLE have I? Tools is probably the wrong term actually, it's more like techniques or approaches. Anyway, favourites - yes, definitely (or more broadly recommendations to include digg, stumbleupon type actions). These are another low cost means of sharing cognition and surprisingly effective, particularly when aggregated.
@Patrick - someone on Twitter commented about foxglove and I didn't get it until I read your post. Of course! I don't want it to be an exclusive term, we're all a bit digitalist. You're right about it not being about the creation of content, but it has a backward impact on this - you create content that can be embedded and shared because those are the conduits through which it has to flow.

Brian

I applaud the attempt to create an alternative to what I see as a false dichotomy that I believe is inherent in talk of digital natives/immigrants.

As a data property, I would add (using this term hesitantly) remixability... that it is published in a format that allows for editing, or at least precise linking. I have been in a lot of discussions about the ideal granularity of resources, and to an extent I see it as more a question of being able to find the precise pieces of a chunk of content that I want, and being able to selectively reuse what I want. If I can do those things, I don't care how big or small that defined piece of source content is...

The comments to this entry are closed.

Flickr

  • www.flickr.com
    This is a Flickr badge showing public photos and videos from edtechie99. Make your own badge here.

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter