« A little corner that is forever edupunk | Main | Openness - catch my disease »

11/07/2008

Comments

AJ Cann

Number 3 is a pretty big if.
I turned down doing a new edition of one of my books this morning. It has paid well, but frankly, I just can't face it this time round. If I were not writing so much online, I would have taken the deal, and been paid.

Martin

True, but as a contributing author I don't get anything anyway.
But even then, what do you get - 8% of sales maybe? I get between 7 and 10% on my books. That's not much for doing most of the work.

AJ Cann

You need to get a better agent ;-)
It's true that it's not much, but when I was younger and my mortgage was painful, it made a big difference. I couldn't have afforded to have been a full time blogger back then...

Andrew Brasher

Have you signed it yet Martin? If not, how about trying a Radiohead style pay-what-you-like per download?

Anoush Margaryan

Academia and academics will choose what they are rewarded and promoted on - and it's not blogs, not even book chapters, but peer-reviewed publications in impact rated journal.

I think the whole publication and peer review system is flawed and must be changed. Copyright is only one component.

When the system accommodates a broader range of types of venues for publication and dissemination of ideas, not many people will consider submitting to the draconian measures and the inherently unjust system that these "bastions of academic credibility" promote.

Doug Clow

Quite. Derek Rowntree fought this fight years ago - and as a prolific author of fairly briskly-selling titles (as academic books go) he had a fair amount of leverage. ISTR he managed to wring out concessions like "Oh Ok, you can use some limited reprints of your own books in your own teaching and CPD activities, even if you're getting paid to do them" out of it personally but failed entirely to dismantle the entire silly system (!).

Richard Treves

Hi Martin,

An interesting post. I saw a cracking talk given at Southampton by someone from ePrints. He explained the history of academic freedom and how we let it go....

Apparently journals used to be run by professional bodies and Unis in a fairly amateur way. Robert Maxwell smelled an opportunity after WW2 and invented Pergamon press (I think ?) hovering up the profits of Academics writing, academics reviewing and academics editing journals that he just had to print. They do even less for their money now its online of course and ePrints aims to reclaim the rights for the authors.

Rather like OS software, academics need to get back what is ours as, as I'm sure you're aware, papers on the web are more widley read and cited than those behind paywalls. And its not just us of course, society as a whole benefits if academic articles are freely available on the web.

I agree with your comparison to a blog - a point you don't make but is crucial for me in the arena of geo-browsers is that you just can't accept a 6 month delay to your work being released - the world has changed completely in that period.

Rich

Martin

Hi Richard,
long time no hear! Yes, I do recall that history of Maxwell - thanks for bringing that in, it illustrates that actually the current state of play is not the only one.
And you are absolutely right - delay is crucial. As I mentioned in a post a while ago, I had a paper that took 3 years to be published in a reputable journal. Three years in educational technology is a lifetime, so how does that make it reputable?
Martin

The comments to this entry are closed.

Flickr

  • www.flickr.com
    This is a Flickr badge showing public photos and videos from edtechie99. Make your own badge here.

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter