« My Amazon ranking - whipped by the long tail | Main | FLOSS summer school »

15/03/2007

Comments

Guy Pursey

Glad you spotted this too. I made a brief and unenlightening mention of it on my blog and was going to pass the link on to you... It made me angry - I thought I might have missed something crucial but it turns out businesses are actually complaining about the state-funded promotion of child education :S

Guy

Peter Evans

Not only has the BBC has suspended its ‘BBC Jam’ Digital Curriculum service but from the end of March the production of the educational TV programmes that BBC Jam was intended to replace will also cease and the staff associated with them will be made redundant. It was hoped that they would be resettled over in the hitherto expanding BBC Jam service, but not now, so it looks as if these key staff will be lost to the BBC. More serious is that the suspension of BBC Jam and the stopping of school TV production means that the BBC now makes no formal education provision at all for children and schools I know the BBC Trust has asked for ‘..fresh proposals for how the BBC meets its public purpose of promoting formal education in the context of school age children’, but by the time this is completed. many key TV production staff will have been sacked. Time to make a fuss.

Geoff

In general I don't disagree but the facts may not entirely support you.
Seb Schmoller used the Freedom of Information act to get usage info from the BBC
http://fm.schmoller.net/2007/06/closure_of_bbc_.html
and more fully at http://fm.schmoller.net/2007/06/closure_of_bbc_.html#more
They don't look wonderful to me . More like a snowball (gradually melting away)
Geoff

The comments to this entry are closed.

Flickr

  • www.flickr.com
    This is a Flickr badge showing public photos and videos from edtechie99. Make your own badge here.

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter