« Academici.net | Main | LAMS podcast »

11/01/2007

Comments

AJ Cann

The Cisco trademark has not been defended as there are several products on the market already labelled "iphone". This means, in effect, that it has lapsed, and Apple Inc. knew it would be able to fit the iPhone in with the rest of their iProduct line. Trademarks are different from patents in this respect.

Martin

You're absolutely right Alan - my apologies if I confused trademarks and patents. The point I wanted to make was that it was actually in Apple's interest to allow the suit to go ahead because it generated an extra two days worth of publicity for the iphone, more or less free. I accept this might be a bit of a cynical point of view ;)

The comments to this entry are closed.

Flickr

  • www.flickr.com
    This is a Flickr badge showing public photos and videos from edtechie99. Make your own badge here.

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter