« You are your (tag) cloud | Main | Seesmic and the Nabakov equation »

16/12/2008

Comments

Owen Stephens and Damyanti Patel

You obviously touched a nerve with me, as the following 'quick' comment kept growing!

I agree that Powerpoint is not specifically the problem. I was lucky enough to see Lawrence Lessig present a couple of years ago - and it was a revelation. I had never realised how hidebound I'd been in my use of Powerpoint until then.

Now, we can't all be Lawrence Lessig, but that experience inspired me to change my approach - and now I generally use full screen picture to essentially punctuate my talk, and emphasise aspects of what I'm saying. There are still issues. I'm not sure my slides really add a huge amount - although I occasionally manage to choose images that stick in the mind and therefore act as a reminder of my point. Also, for those looking at my powerpoint slides they are essentially completely meaningless without commentary. This is a deliberate move on my part, and I've started to put more in the speakers notes to compensate. However, I note more and more presentations on 'slideshare' work standalone as well as when presented, and wonder if this is a better approach (I think this is harder work probably!)

But my real problem is that I don't think Powerpoint or Keynote actually help me very much in creating 'good' presentations. They seem very much structured around putting text on slides, with some facility for illustration.

I want to create slides that are full of great illustrations, figures, pictures, diagrams. Where are the tools that help me - the 'drawing toolbar'? Don't make me laugh :)

Perhaps part of the problem is I just don't have the skill set - I'm not skilled with Photoshop, Flash, etc. But I think some of the tools could be integrated into Powerpoint and similar packages - and probably be made easy enough to use that I could exploit them.

Some examples of tools that I'd love to see in Powerpoint (and please point me at stuff if it exists):

Ability to animate a 'flyover' of an image, zooming in on different bits in order, advancing on click
'Tweening' tool (where one image morphs into another)
Decent diagramming tool
Integration with Flickr/Youtube/you name it (n.b. just about to install Slideshare ribbon in Powerpoint which looks interesting)

Sure that there are loads more...

John Connell

Great piece, Martin.

Powerpoint is a very powerful tool - it can be a bit of a dog to use sometimes - but it is nonetheless a powerful tool that is, unfortunately, used appallingly by most presenters.

The comment above from Owen and Damyanti is a perfect illustration of the problem - a lack of skills in those wanting to take Powerpoint beyond the interminable lists of bullet points and the size 14 text (so that you can fit more on the screen).

Anyone who wants to use Powerpoint "...to create slides that are full of great illustrations, figures, pictures, diagrams..." (to quote from their comment) can do so, but you have to be willing to extend your skill set, and your tool set, beyond Powerpoint itself. When I have Powerpoint open to build a presentation (or, preferably, Keynote, but it doesn't really matter which at the end of the day), I usually also have a number of other applications open: Photoshop, Illustrator, the Web (e.g. Google, YouTube, Flickr (for creative commons pics), and many other sites), iPhoto, and sometimes Garageband and/or Quicktime.

When I see a bad presentation, I always blame the presenter, and never the application being used, whatever it might be..

AJ Cann

I think there is a design flaw inherent in PowerPoint. If I could have more speaker prompts on my screen I'd often be confident enough to be a lot more Lessig-like on the audience screen.

rhysatwork

Martin I couldn't agree with you more. PP is a tool that has the capability of providing the user with a raft of largely unused features. These are often overlooked in favour of the old reliable dot point.

Probably the single biggest influence in my understanding of the capabilities of PP is Tom Kuhlman from Articulate and the Rapid E-learning Blog http://www.articulate.com/rapid-elearning his tips and tricks for getting the most out of PP have helped to improve my products no end.

Alan Levine

Powerpoint does not kill presentations
http://flickr.com/photos/cogdog/502785605/

but if you try really hard on your crutches you will learn to hobble like the best of them.

I'd rather learn to fly.

Tools are neutral, inert. Why give 'em power? Hence, the Last PowerPoint
http://flickr.com/photos/cogdog/sets/72157606327082013/

Bullet on.

mweller

@Owen and Damyanti (was it a joint comment?) - I agree the focus in PP is on text, so it has bad affordances for presentations in a way.
@John - yes, it should be seen as part of a collection. What I see PP as being good at is creating a draft presentation, or presentation structure. I start with bullet lists and then carefully remove them. The problem is many people don't get beyond the draft stage.
@Alan - great presentation, laughed my butt off at the life in bullet points. And to my shame I hadn't seen the Randy Pausch lecture, thanks for that, it is funny, intelligent and genuinely moving. A couple of points:
1) I've seen a few people complain that no-one looks at the notes on Slideshare - my response is create a slidecast, that way people have the audio and visuals.
2) It is true one can become overly reliant on a crutch. The point about using PP as a drafting tool above can be seen as a means of moving away from this. In the end you can abandon PP altogether and your presentation can be demos, Flickr slideshow, Camtasia movie, whatever. But if you're not a presentation whizz, then PP does actually provide a useful scaffolding tool - as long as you do move beyond the bullet list.
3) I know you were kinda being cheesy but do every presentation as if it's your last doesn't really hold in everyday life because a) sometimes you have to do presentations at short notice and b) the subject matter isn't what you'd always choose for your last presentation eg 'New organisational structures'

Steve Boneham

@AJ Cann You can set up PowerPoint to use multiple displays - ie. speakers notes on screen, slides on the projector.

More broadly, I slideware like PowerPoint is often misused as a planning tool, which means you end up with speakers notes on the slide. I find if I do my planning away from PowerPoint, thinking in images and concepts, then I end up with a much better slidedecks like the ones described in this post.

nigel

I think the best example of power-using PowerPoint was Diana Oblinger at an OU conference a year or so ago. A real tour de force where the slideshow ran in the background as a counterpoint to her verbal presentation.

If we could borrow your crutch and beat a few of the bad practitioners might that improve everyone else? :-)

M-H

I'm like you in wishing that speakers would use more creativity with powerpoint. One thing I've done is to have samples from my data voiced, and only put a key sentence on the screen, so neither I nor the listeners have to read screenfuls of text; they can focus on the key sentence while listening to the words. I've had good feedback on that. Also, I made an animated poster using a powerpoint presentation (well, it was about how people relate online) that viewers really liked.

Presentation Trainer

A good defence of PowerPoint is realistic. Presentation software offers us all the opportunities we need to engage with our audiences visually - using images as visual metaphors. Most presenters could go a lot further with their use of PowerPoint - enhancing and boosting their presentations in the process.
Peter

The comments to this entry are closed.

Flickr

  • www.flickr.com
    This is a Flickr badge showing public photos and videos from edtechie99. Make your own badge here.

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter