« The weirdness of copyright | Main | Digital literacies »

15/07/2008

Comments

Jared Stein

I think I'm going to be sick ;)

Laurie

Openness is a fascinating topic. Your illustration looks great, for a certain level of seniority and success. Do you believe that a very junior researcher, being judged by more conservative bosses, can afford to take the route you suggest? And what about small setbacks, which can have a big impact on a lowly young academic, such as what happens when their slidecast gets rude comments about naivety from peers or programme managers?

Martin

@Jared - not a Ben Lee fan then :)
@Laurie - there is something in what you say, although I think increasingly a young academic might find themselves well placed by being one of the few people in their organisation who does 'all that web 2 stuff'. However, part of what I wanted to argue was the way openness 'infects' what you do, and like a real infection, there's not much you can do about it. Once you start down this path you begin to find closed systems which prohibit reuse just kind of strange.

James

Great post. I don't get swallowed by every 2.0 technology that comes along and I still hate Twitter, but I spare no expense preaching openness. Thanks for drawing my attention to Seesmic - looks very cool.

Here in Canada, we're also under assault with regard to IP, digital copyright and ridiculously high cell data rates.

It's very hard to move an educational institution from old protectionist modes to edupunk. Not sure it can actually happen.

Tony Hirst

@laurie "Do you believe that a very junior researcher, being judged by more conservative bosses, can afford to take the route you suggest?"

Depends on whether you want career progression or not...

I think I'd liken openness to an addiction rather a disease; when you hit web junky status, you can say goodbye to advancement because you'll be too busy finding the next quick fix to tick other people's boxes...

David Gilmour

It's not often I'm pleased to read about an epidemic spreading, but I find this very encouraging.

I'm not sure about the virus metaphor, though. That suggests something temporary, for one thing, and harmful.

To me it's more like fire, or the wheel - one of those genies which, once out the bottle, can't be put back.

Brian Lamb

One of those simple formulations that makes instant sense, one that will probably play in my mind for some time, and one that I'm almost certain to co-opt myself.

Chris Jobling

Thanks Martin for the encouraging words. The viral impact of open tools had certainly been my experience and it's nice to know that there may be some research kudos in what otherwise seems like a bit of a time sink!

Lisa Neal Gualtieri

Please take the next step and outline the pros and cons of the openness academic. Information overload vs. information access ...

Great post!

Elaine Talbert

Hi there,

I like the use of the medical language to show the "catchiness" of these learning 2.0 tools. It is a fun approach but exemplifies how infectious they are for their ease of use and accessibility.

Elaine

The comments to this entry are closed.

Flickr

  • www.flickr.com
    This is a Flickr badge showing public photos and videos from edtechie99. Make your own badge here.

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter