« Shiny show #3 | Main | Social networks will make us scared of kittens »

24/02/2009

Comments

Tony Hirst

"So, I won't give up on metrics completely, but me and Technorati - we're through. "

So how come you're still showing the Technorati widget? ;-)

mweller

Yes, going to remove it, but I thought it might be useful for this post as people can see the 'it's stuck' rating. It'll be gone soon.

Janice Myint

Hello!! Technorati Support here. I do apologize that you feel that way. You have a number of good points and believe it or not many of them we are currently working on. We know that service has been less than spectacular in the past, but we are working hard to improve and provide a reliable and useful service. If you are willing to give it another shot, I can try to help with the missing links. In the meantime, I've pushed an update for your blog and your authority. Thanks! [email protected]

Brian

Good song, good post.

Though I have manually pinged my new blog URL, and I have had a number of people (some with high Technorati rankings) link to it, it still does not even show up.

I do have some sympathy for the Technorati folks, they are chasing a challenging and constantly evolving set of goals. And it's a shame, for while Technorati was never perfect (I remember it for years ignored Stephen Downes for some quirk in how he hand-rolled OLDaily), for a time there I found it a useful resource.

John Connell

I agree with every point, Martin.

Thing is, how do you actually divorce Technorati? There is no way of deleting your presence (that I know of), so even if you ignore it, it will still be going on, doing its sub-standard thing. Eventually, you just have to take another peek to see how it's all looking (equivalent of a one night stand with your ex?) and off you go again :-)

Like you, my ranking went from 120+ to 62 to 89 and is sitting around 75 at the moment. I want to not care - I just need someone to show me how!!

mweller

@Brian - I agree, it was useful, even if only for some relative measure of your own growing reputation. But sadly, no more.
@John - you've called me. I know I'll go back and peek one more time...

Adam

I don't think you should give up on metrics at all, though Technorati is definitely a ways behind the curve.

You said that it is pre-Twitter, but as far as I can tell it is pre-RSS as well, at least in its model. Authority should be determined by links as well as feed subscriptions, bookmarks on sites like delicious, and any number of other things. Links alone just won't cut it (and it seems like even there Technorati has been bad about maintenance).

The comments to this entry are closed.

Flickr

  • www.flickr.com
    This is a Flickr badge showing public photos and videos from edtechie99. Make your own badge here.

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter