« Talis podcast | Main | The power of sharing »

15/09/2008

Comments

Manish

Hi Martin

Cant agree more with your "social is substratum" comment.

I find twitter is more democratic than say forums and also it is very informal way of communication. Boundaries between teachers and students are smudged.

We are launching a Project called Pacman where we will use twitter for pastoral case management. This is an offshoot of my work with project students where I realised that twitter can be a useful informal coomunication tool with my project students. I used other tools like wiki, e-logs which were more formal in feel as was evident from student comments when I interviewed them.

some really good thoughts and you help me see it better. thanks.

Manish

Christian

I've watched the slideshow and still don't understand what you mean by 'social is the new substratum' - surely 'the social' has always underlayed (is that a word?) our actions and activities?

I also think you're a bit hasty in using the Gartner hype cycle in an educational document - I don't think it's reliable or predictive. However, I do agree with your model for uses of twitter - interesting stuff!

Leon Cych

Great blog Martin.
http://eduspaces.net/leoncych/weblog/479135.html

eve isk

I also think you're a bit hasty in using the Gartner hype cycle in an educational document - I don't think it's reliable or predictive. However, I do agree with your model for uses of twitter - interesting stuff!

The comments to this entry are closed.

Flickr

  • www.flickr.com
    This is a Flickr badge showing public photos and videos from edtechie99. Make your own badge here.

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter