« Find time for courage | Main | The year of no s**t Sherlock »

15/12/2013

Comments

Brian

Your association of Downes with another Canadian icon, Neil Young, is dead on. Not just for enduring so prolifically (Long May They Run), but for integrity (can you imagine Downes selling out? This Post's For You). And versatility. Neil has made an album in pretty much every rock/folk/country mode imaginable, and Stephen can comment authoritatively on epistemology, theory, politics, IP, learning cultures, you name it... He's also a formidable technologist and coder in his own right. They share a similar idiosyncratic undeniably unique sensibilities that sometimes veer into cantankerousness, but leavened by a big heart and off-beat humour.

And somehow the dude seems to read every single piece of material published on the internet relevant to his eclectic interests on a daily basis. His chronicling of the blogosphere is an epic feat in itself.

So among other things, your post prompted me to expend very limited unbooked time this morning to remix this Neil Young meme (http://abject.ca/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/PlayNiceNeilWatching.jpeg) to this one: http://www.flickr.com/photos/harry/11405508656/

I rarely waste time so fruitfully.

Clintlalonde

Wait...I thought Stephen was Celine Dion? http://www.edtechpost.ca/wordpress/2010/12/08/oldaily-greatest-hits/#comment-2758

mweller

Brian - thankyou for extending my Neil Young analogy further than I had thought. You're right about not selling out - Mind you, now Downes has his 19M grant perhaps we'll see him driving pimped up limos and wearing bling. No, not likely is it.

Clint - Scott took slight umbrage to that remark when I posted it so I ought to stress I really was just joking then, but I was quite serious about the Neil Young comparison. My heart will go on.

The comments to this entry are closed.

Flickr

  • www.flickr.com
    This is a Flickr badge showing public photos and videos from edtechie99. Make your own badge here.

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter