« Science 2.0 workshop | Main | The REF - a user's guide »

12/10/2009

Comments

David Harrison

It's a challenging target you've set yourself. I'm finding the number of platforms and the different personas that I have to maintain means that some begin to look in the need of refresh.

However you're challenge is much bigger than mine, because people actually READ your blogs, mine are more by way of an experiment to see whether the context/persona/identity/corporate/personal thing can work or whether there needs to be a different schema for all of this.

At the moment I'm quite drawn to using tumblr/posterous for the more personal stuff and to use the more heavy-duty systems for the corporate/work-related, but I still have too many of these platforms to maintain.

Take care! You'll need to make sure you get the feedback that sustains you - be a multi-blogger can make you both a sad (geek-wise) and lonely person :-)

Martin

Hi David - I would like to portray myself as a blogging superhero, but it's probably not as tough as I made out. I think the digital scholarship one will fall out pretty naturally from what I do here and on the Tumblr blog. And I hope to get someone else to help out on that.
The SocialLearn one is a bit trickier because it's nearer a commercial blog, and I probably have to be more careful of what I say, and also to be seen to be commenting on things that SocialLearn should be part of. So there is more of an agenda to adhere to I guess. I think I will have to be strict with myself on this one - eg I will blog every Friday afternoon, rather than when it takes me.
BTW - I recommend tumblr if what you want from your personal blog is to be commenting and gathering stuff around the web. I think it's a great tool (lots of people rate posterous too, nothing really between them).

Owen Stephens


I've had 2 blogs for some time, both 'personal' (in that they belong to me) but one work-based, and one more personal-based. To be honest the latter is a very occasional affair, maintained jointly with my wife. However, the former is where I've built my online professional identity (especially before Twitter).

However, I've recently started a 3rd blog, which is specifically for the project I'm working on (TELSTAR), and clearly owned by the project/institution and not me. This has definitely started to affect what I post to my own professional blog - as I want to keep a clear separation between them, and yet where my professional interests are focussed is clearly linked with my current day-job. At the same time I want to make use of my own blog (as I have got a readership there) to promote my work on the project.

To be honest I'd be happier if I was posting project stuff to my own blog, however my position as an academic-related member of staff is probably slightly different to that of an academic, but the stuff I write in the course of my work is owned by the institution, not by me - so I'm inclined to try to keep these things more separate than perhaps is ideal.

Gustavo Goncalves

your URL link to your tumblr blog is pointing to your SocialLearn blog.

Martin

@Owen - the issue of ownership is a tricky one for all staff. The hardline would be that the OU does own my material contractually. Like you, I have tried to use this blog as the voice of a project also, but it doesn't always meet with success and sometimes a separate blog is required, but hopefully with cross-fertilisation.
@Gustavo - oh dear! Not a very good start to maintaining my multiple identities. Thanks for pointing it out, fixed now.

Brennig

Brilliant Venn diagram.

FWIW I tread a slightly different path. My 'professional' life never crosses in to my blog, but my other 'jobs/occupations', writing, music and the general random bobbins (lovely description, thanks!) just flops out and informs/confuses in more or less equal values.

 Dissertation

Hello,
It is really a nice and worthy post by you. Keep it up.

The comments to this entry are closed.

Flickr

  • www.flickr.com
    This is a Flickr badge showing public photos and videos from edtechie99. Make your own badge here.

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter