« We're all Canadians now | Main | Twitter Tales »

09/05/2008

Comments

Adam

One of us! One of us!

Patrick

Thanks for the post - I can now feel smug :-). Hmm I wonder if there is anyone in the US who can help you out?

tech4teach

With Volume Licence versions of Windows XP there was no need to Activate the copy. This meant the VLK versions could be installed on lots of machines without needing to Activate or Register with Microsoft. Pirates loved them!

With VLK versions of Vista, you need to run an Activation Service on your network (so I'm told, we have avoided Vista thus far). I believe that this would be why you have to plug it in to the network at the OU.

Liam Green-Hughes

I stopped using Windows a few years ago and haven't looked back. The Linux experience us not without its problems just yet (however I get the impression that Ubuntu is certainly a much smoother computing experience than Vista at the moment!), but what is happening I think is that Linux is evolving at a faster rate than Windows, each new release of Ubuntu definitely supports that view. I think you should give it a go Martin!

Anybody interested can get started in Linux by visiting: http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/, this might be useful too: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/SwitchingToUbuntu/FromWindows

Anonymous

Go Ubuntu! I just dropped Vista. It's not been without challenges but it's been worth every keystroke. You feel more in control, more in command, less at the mercy of Vista.

The comments to this entry are closed.

Flickr

  • www.flickr.com
    This is a Flickr badge showing public photos and videos from edtechie99. Make your own badge here.

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter