« The Selfies - award your own blog | Main | Logyourrun quick review »

01/01/2008

Comments

AJ Cann

Does yours keep losing the network connection? After 10 minutes or so we seem to need to reconnect to our network.
The iPod Touch reminds me of the first VHS recorder I bought. I'd sit in meetings thinking "I wish I could fast forward this bit". Now, whenever I'm out of the house, I'm thinking about wireless access.
Apart from that, breathtaking piece of disruptive technology. I'm still torn between the Aesus eePC and an iPod Touch, and I'm waiting to see what is announced on 15th January.

Martin

No, mine seems to hold the network connection - but I've only used it at home, not on someone else's network yet. The Asus also has that quick start-up benefit which really changes the way you use the net - in the same way that having an always on wireless connection changed it from having to go through dial-up. If I didn't have a laptop then I'd go for the Asus, but the Touch performs a different function for me. Strangely, I don't really think of it as an iPod, ie a music player, but more of a very portable, cool wi-fi access device.

John Connell

Happy New Year, Martin.

Like you, I tend to see the Touch as 'not-an-iPod'. I always carry an iPod Video with me on my travels, and now that I find myself carrying both, I tend to still depend on the Video iPod for music and video, with the Touch mainly used for the many other things it can do.

Gill

Agree with all comments, although I don't lose the network connection either. I never imagined that accessing email via outlook web access on a handheld could ever be easy, but the itouch has transformed that. It has been a great wrench, but I forced myself to hand over my iPod video to one of my children. With the iPod touch, I just don't need the two devices, although I miss the lovely dial. But then, I have still kept my iPod nano - well, one of them :) .

One of the failings I feel is the lack of a little sleeve, like the one supplied with the iPod video. I don't want to put beautiful Ipod Touch in a bulky leather case, but I'd like something to protect the screen from the keys in my handbag. I've ended up carrying the thing in an old Acer N30 sleeve which is a bit big but which does the job. Oh, and I've bought a stick-on screen protector which I hate.

Janet Tokerud

@Martin. Thanks for your good blog post on the touch. I agree, the touch is special and I love just having it with me -- all the time. And it's proven to me that even though I have a MacBook Pro in the room nearby, I often use the touch to surf or check email because it is so light and less cumbersome to handle.

@AJ Cann. You shouldn't be losing your connection every 10 minutes. My friend, Bob, had a problem a little like that and eventually he figured out what was wrong. I never get dropped on my home wifi network or any other typical hotspot cafe. I'm lucky, my favorite local coffee place has free wifi. I love having the easy access to the Net and read the NY Times, Engadget, check stocks, etc. (yeah I did jailbreak).

@John C. I did keep my 80 gig iPod which is great for longer trips and nice to know it is there. But I don't carry it with me all the time now that I have a 16 gig iPod touch. That's enough room although I do fill up quite a lot of space with video podcasts because they are fun when you have a spare bit of time to watch.

@Gill I think the sleeve is a good idea. But you don't need a screen protector on the touch or the iPhone. You can't scratch even trying with keys scraping across. I've had mine a couple weeks. I did get a case for Christmas that does not cover the screen. Apparently the chrome back can scratch.

The comments to this entry are closed.

Flickr

  • www.flickr.com
    This is a Flickr badge showing public photos and videos from edtechie99. Make your own badge here.

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter