« Blogging vid | Main | Future learning environments (the talk I never gave) »

08/06/2007

Comments

AJ Cann

I guess you have to believe in the assessment by reputation model that Stephen Downes was discussing the other day:
http://halfanhour.blogspot.com/2007/06/open-source-assessment.html

Even leaving aside RAE, I'm not convinced we're there yet...

Doug Clow

For instance, there is no allocation for 'blogging' in my annual work plan.

As someone with a stake in your annual work plan, and with the work planning round just kicking off ... we can work on that if you want!

Seriously - I think this is an entirely legitimate activity for you to be doing, and if it helps you to account for it in work plan terms then let's do that. I wouldn't expect any major kickback on it, but if there I'm up for taking it on as a debate.

Martin

Alan - thanks for the heads up on Stephen's piece, I hadn't seen that. He's right, and it was kind of what I was getting at with the phrase the economics of reputation, but as you suggest, it's not there yet.
Doug - thanks for the offer. It's strange - although I make a big play for blogging as legitimate activity, I'm not sure I actually want it to be pulled in to the mainstream. Perhaps I enjoy it precisely because it hasn't been subjected to official processes...
Martin

Tony Hirst

"If I was chasing promotion then blogging might be an activity I could ill afford alongside those that are deemed promotion-worthy."

Yep - I've blown it through blogging (in part), outreach/public engagement too... ( http://robofesta.open.ac.uk )

ho humm.... depends on what you think is the right thing (or a Good Thing) to do, maybe?
;-)
tony

Martin

Tony - I think it depends on what sort of blogger you are too. Mine is sort of a by-product of 'stuff I am doing as part of my job' and 'stuff I am thinking about when running/walking dog' - as such it doesn't actually take up much time. I think it's a different prospect if you are undertaking tasks, so that you can blog about them. Then it is a much bigger drain on your time (although still valuable).
And yes, I've always done what I thought was interesting rather than what I thought would get me promotion - luckily my gambles have paid off!
Martin

The comments to this entry are closed.

Flickr

  • www.flickr.com
    This is a Flickr badge showing public photos and videos from edtechie99. Make your own badge here.

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter